Tuesday, October 11, 2011

Fauquier Health Recognizes first Daisy Award Recipients for Excellence in Nursing

Fauquier Health’s first-ever Daisy Awards for compassionate nursing were presented Monday, October 3. Tena Barnes-Carraher, national DAISY Foundation co-founder, was the keynote speaker.

Daisy recipeints were Ina Bowman, RN, director of the Fauquier Health Emergency Department and Deb Larsen, RN, clinical coordinator for the ED. Barnes-Carraher, who created the DAISY Foundation in honor of the wonderful nurses who cared for her husband through a long illness, said that the nomination submitted for Bowman and Larsen told a compassionate tale. A family passing through the area was involved in a car accident that resulted in the mother’s death. The family’s dog was lost in the chaos that followed. Bowman and Larsen tracked down the dog at Fauquier’s SPCA, retrieved and cleaned up the family pet before returning it to the family. This simple act of kindness was immensely comforting to a bereft family coping with a tragic death.

Nominations for the Daisy Award were accept¬ed from Fauquier Health patients, visitors and employees over several months and reviewed by the Daisy Review Commit¬tee. Nominees were: Judy Pohodich, RN (Intensive Care Unit); Theresa Thompson, RN (third floor patient care); Stephanie Snouffer, RN (second floor patient care); Kim Steves, RN (Emergency Department); Sedar Sertas, RN (Emergency Department); Bram Stevens, RN (Emergency Department); Jennifer Deane, RN (Emergency Department); Katrina McLean, RN (Emergency Department); Kasey Saunders- Carter, RN (Emergency Department); Christine Pierce, RN (Family Birthing Center); Dottie Williams, RN (Wellness Center); Kelly Leathers, RN (works in various departments); Daniel Carter, RN (Interventional Radiology); Sonya Gray, RN (Operating Room), as well as Bowman and Larsen.

Fauquier Health will present the Daisy Award every quarter to a deserving nurse in the health system. Recipients receive a Daisy pin, a hand-carved trophy, and a Cinnabon party for their unit.

Nominations are accepted any time and may be submitted online at
www.fauquierhealth.org (look for the daisy on the home page) or by picking up a nomination form at the front desk of the hospital.

No comments: